Jean Werbie-Harris receives Impact Award in Kenosha, KABA announces new board officers

Pleasant Prairie’s Community Development Director Jean Werbie-Harris was presented with the 2024 Impact Award during the Kenosha Area Business Alliance’s annual meeting at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside Thursday morning.

Werbie-Harris has held various key positions for Pleasant Prairie since 1989, including community development director, planner and zoning administrator.

She has overseen the village’s planning, zoning, and development efforts, contributing to drafting and administering numerous municipal ordinances, including the village’s comprehensive plan, land division and development control and zoning regulations.

“I believe the sky’s the limit if your heart is in it,” Werbie-Harris said. “For that reason, I am so truly blessed to be recognized for living my dream and loving what I do every day in Kenosha County.”

People are also reading…

Werbie-Harris credited her successful 35-year career to both former colleagues and current colleagues and administration.

“I want to thank all of our team here in Pleasant Prairie and honor them today for everything we have done,” she said. “No one person can make something happen in the community.”

She also took time to acknowledge the growth in all areas of life in Pleasant Prairie.

“We’ve created businesses, industrial parks, housing developments, shopping, recreational opportunities (and) restaurants,” she said. “All providing wonderful places for people to go to visit and to celebrate here in Kenosha County and in Pleasant Prairie. It is totally awesome.”

New board officers

KABA welcomed a new chair, vice chair and treasurer to its board of directors during the meeting.

Wes Saber, executive vice president and chief financial officer for Haribo, was named chair of the board. Aurora Medical Center-Kenosha President Donna Jamieson was named the new board vice chair; and Jamie Hogan, president of Specialized Accounting Services LLC in Pleasant Prairie, was named treasurer. Chris Weyker, chief executive officer of the Kenosha Achievement Center, will remain the board’s secretary.
Vice President of Finance for Froedtert South Jens Emerson is the immediate past chair of the board. Anne Arbas, executive vice president and chief financial officer of Jockey International, served as treasurer before Hogan; and Saber had served as the board’s vice chair before he was named chair.


A keynote presentation was delivered by UW-Madison professor of urban planning Kurt Paulsen on housing playing a role in economic development. City of Whitewater’Administrator John Weidl also gave a presentation on the affordable housing efforts in Whitewater.
Read more at the Kenosha News.
Go Back